Kathy Cramer

Kathy Cramer to present, "The Politics of Resentment" on January 27, 2017 in the Remick Commons, located in Visitation Hall. The presentation will begin at 12:00 noon. Please RSPV to Lacey Barroso at lbarros1@nd.edu. 

Cramer Profile Photo

Katherine Cramer (B.A. University of Wisconsin-Madison 1994, Ph.D. University of Michigan 2000) is a professor in the Department of Political Science and Director of the Morgridge Center for Public Service. She is also an affiliate faculty member in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, the LaFollette School of Public Affairs, the Department of Forest and Wildlife Ecology, the Center for Nonprofits, the Wisconsin Center for the Advancement of Postsecondary Education, and the Center for Integrated Agricultural Systems.  Her work focuses on the way people in the United States make sense of politics and their place in it. She is known for her innovative approach to the study of public opinion, in which she invites herself into the conversations of groups of people to listen to the way they understand public affairs. She is also published as Katherine Cramer Walsh and is the author of The Politics of Resentment: Rural Consciousness in Wisconsin and the Rise of Scott Walker (University of Chicago Press, forthcoming March 2016), Talking about Race: Community Dialogues and the Politics of Difference (University of Chicago Press, 2007), Talking about Politics: Informal Groups and Social Identity in American Life (University of Chicago Press, 2004) and co-author of Democracy at Risk: How Political Choices Have Undermined Citizenship and What We Can Do About It with the members of the American Political Science Association's Task Force on Civic Engagement and Civic Education, Stephen Macedo, Yvette M. Alex-Assensoh, Jeffrey M. Berry, Michael Brintnall, David E. Campbell, Luis Ricardo Fraga, Archon Fung, William A. Galston, Christopher F. Karpowitz, Margaret Levi, Meira Levinson, Keena Lipsitz, Richard G. Niemi, Robert D. Putnam, Wendy M. Rahn, Rob Reich, Robert R. Rodgers, Todd Swanstrom (Brookings, 2005). She is the recipient of the 2012 APSA Qualitative and Multi-Methods Research Section award for the best qualitative or multi-method submission to the American Political Science Review, a 2006 UW-Madison Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award, a 2012-2014 UW-Madison Vilas Associate Award, and a 2015-17 Leon Epstein Faculty Fellowship.